Somebody call the Doctor

The Tardis
The 11th Doctor Who Tardis

I’ve been meaning to blog on Dr. Who for a while now, even before the last series ended. I am not a fully fledged geek. I have a passing interest in, and an understanding of, the sci-fi offerings that have flicked across our screens in the last 40 odd years. I do understand the passion this produces in men (mainly) of a certain age. I am that “certain age” but i don’t own a collection of Dr Who action figures, or a Dalek towel or Blake7 alarm clock. I do have a Shaun of the Dead film reel, but that’s another story.

I have, however, watched Dr. Who since its re-imaginging by Rusty (Thats Russell T. Davies) and for the most part it been the highlight of many a Saturday evening. I’m fortunate I have young son to watch it with, so I not only view it through my cynical adult eyes but through his sense of wonder, fear and joy.

Many have dismissed Dr. Who as a kids show. They’re wrong, its a family show aimed at kids and it works. The original series with Christopher Eccleston was great but then David Tennant came along and made the role his own, gurning, flirting, emoting – making the Doctor his own. Girls (and boys) swooned, children clapped and the whole thing was a brilliant ride.

When Russell announced he was stepping aside and handing the reins of the show to Stephen Moffat, who for many (Including myself) was the writer of some of the better, darker, edgier and more compelling episodes, there was much rejoicing.

However, the announcement that David Tennant was also going wasn’t greeted with the same indifference. The slightly overwrought ending of the 10th Doctor proved though it was time for a change.

I feared for the 11th Doctor, after the rock star style adulation of his predecessor it was always going to be a tough act to follow. Two things were in his favour. Firstly Matt Smith is a terrific young actor, secondly Stephen Moffat, is a brilliant writer.

And what a series, a terrific rollercoaster ride from start to finish (with the one mis-step in the recreation of the Daleks). The whole series felt darker, edgier, sexier and entertaining. It had a great storyline, strong female characters, a quirky, twisted Doctor and some proper scary enemies. In the course of the run, mini-me crawled on to my lap at least three times (assuring me he wasn’t scared but just wanted to sit with me).

I love the new Doctor and I think Amy Pond is great (not in a sad dad pervy way) and glad they chose a sidekick who could properly act this time.

In the end, given the weight of expectation and pressure to “follow that”, Stephen Moffat guided the programme superbly.

Bravo Doctor, you’ve saved Saturday teatimes, again!.

Leave a comment